Quick Chicken Curry for One (or Two)

Last week I was at my friend Alexa’s place to watch ABC’s new hit drama, Nashville (said with just a hint of sarcasm). This show actually has a special place in my heart, despite it’s ridiculous characters, because I went to college at Vanderbilt. Alexa was actually my roommate for three years, a fact my mother says is a “miracle”. I think that’s a stab at my type-A personality and perhaps being a little difficult to live with.

Alexa was kind enough to make us dinner – a delicious Thai stew filled with seafood and vegetables. Girl cheated a bit though, because she used Trader Joe’s Thai Red Curry Sauce. But it was awesome sauce, so last night I got myself over to TJ’s in search of ingredients for chicken curry. They either didn’t have red curry paste (essential ingredient) or I totally missed it, so instead I picked up their Curry Simmer Sauce. I chose this one over the Thai Curry Sauces because it has zero preservatives or other bizarre ingredients that you can’t pronounce. It’s filled with tomatoes, garlic, coriander  cumin, turmeric  paprika, cinnamon, cloves, and other spices. This is a huge score for me because I don’t have handful of these spices on hand – still building my collection.

I sort of followed my original intent, which was to make this chicken curry recipe from Cooking Light, by adding fresh lime juice, soy sauce, and honey (instead of sugar) to the sauce. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes, and it was definitely spicy! Still building up my spice tolerance as well. Boiled some white rice, added the vegetables I had on hand, toasted some cashews for crunch, and it was a complete meal.

quick chicken curry

The recipe below makes enough for 2-4 people, depending on how big you want your portions to be. I had enough for dinner and then lunch leftovers the next day.

Quick Chicken Curry

  • Half of a medium yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 small red (or green) bell pepper, cut into strips
  • Small broccoli head, cut into florets
  • 1-2 medium chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup rice
  • Trader Joe’s Curry Simmer Sauce
  • Tablespoon canola oil
  • Tablespoon soy sauce
  • Teaspoon honey
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • Bunch of cilantro, chopped
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  1. Cut the chicken breast(s) into small chunks – whatever size you want to put in your mouth. Heat 1 tablespoon canola oil in a deep skillet. When the oil is hot (you can check this by flicking a *small* amount of water in the pan – if the water bounces and the oil sizzles, then it’s ready) drop the chicken in. Sprinkle chicken with salt, and brown on each side for 2-3 minutes.
  2. Add your sliced onion, bell pepper strips, and broccoli florets to the pan. Sautee for 6-8 minutes, until the vegetables are tender. Remove the chicken and vegetable mixture from the pan.
  3. Add the Trader Joe’s Curry Simmer Sauce to the pan, along with the soy sauce, honey, red pepper flakes, and juice from half the lime. Cook and reduce the sauce for 8ish minutes, or until slightly thick, stirring every few minutes. Add the chicken and vegetables back into the pan and stir to combine.
  4. While the sauce is doing it’s thing, toast your cashews in a 350 degree oven on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper for about 10 minutes, or until slightly toasted and fragrant.
  5. Don’t forget the rice! Add 1 cup water to a small saucepan and boil. Then add the rice, stir, and reduce to a simmer. Cover and cook for 20-22 minutes or until all the water is absorbed. If you want more rice, just remember the 2:1 ratio – 2 cups of water for every 1 cup of rice.
  6. When the rice is done, plate a decent amount on your plate. Top with chicken curry, sprinkle with cilantro, and squeeze rest of lime juice on, if desired.
Share your thoughts!

